Anonymous Soccer Mom

Musings from the Mundane to the Marvelous

The Big Cheese

2 Comments

How did I not know that April is National Grilled Cheese Month? That just seems like something I would definitely be aware of.  For instance, I know that July 7 is National Chocolate Day. And May 13 is National Apple Pie Day. And October 12 is Hugh Jackman’s birthday. Sigh. But, wait. I digress.

cropped-cropped-Day-2fLuckily for me, I have wonderful friends in the blogoshpere who make me aware of important things like this. And I am honored to be a part of Chick Lit Chit Chat’s celebration of all things cheesy. I was invited to write a guest post which–duh–had to have something to do with cheese. I’m going to give you a tease, right here on Anonymous Soccer Mom…you know, like that gooey, melted bit of cheese you get when you lift the grilled cheese sandwich from the pan, the bit you pull on until it is a long, buttery, stringy morsel that tastes wonderful when you pop it into your mouth, and promises that your sandwich is going to be delicious when you finally tuck in to eat it. Oops, digressing again.

Okay, so here’s the tease. And if you want the whole sandwich (which is code for blog post), you’ll have to hop on over to Chick Lit Chit Chat.

IT’S EASY BEING CHEESY

Remember when you and your spouse were first dating, those endless nights you spent talking and sharing and revealing things about yourself? It was a world of discovery, and you felt as though you were meant to be with this person forever. My husband and I passed many of those nights early in our relationship. To be honest, I recall very little of what he said—it was a long time ago, mind you. But one thing he said sticks with me to this day:

“When I retire, I want to learn to make cheese…”

Yes, at that moment I knew I wanted to spend my life with this man.

Of course, when he went on to say he also wanted to own a goat, I had to rethink my decision. Not that I don’t like goats. Goats are very nice. And I hear they make great lawnmowers. But I’m not so sure what the neighbors will think, and I’m pretty confident there’s a city ordinance banning farm animals from residential backyards.

Anyway, I happen to enjoy cheese, all kinds, from mild to stinky, although I draw the line at the really foul-smelling stuff that makes your eyes water and brings to mind foot fungus. I take my cheese in any form: cut into cubes or sliced or smeared on crackers or baguettes. I like cheese melted under the broiler or in the pan. In fact, I spent the whole of my first pregnancy eating grilled cheese sandwiches made with…

How’s that for a cliffhanger?

Head on over to Chick Lit Chit Chat for the rest of my post. And hang out for a while. It’s a great place to spend some time.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, there’s a hunk of Gouda in my fridge and it’s calling my name. I’m going to call it Hugh…

2 thoughts on “The Big Cheese

  1. Super crazy cute blog post both here and on my blog – Chick Lit Chit Chat. Always so fun to read your writing, Janis. I absolutely CANNOT wait for Sweet Nothings to release July 2. Say, does your husband know he competes with Hugh Jackman for coverage in your writing?

    Since we’re trading links (it’s like our blogs are holding hands – so fun!) here’s a link you might enjoy, you hot soccer mama…

    https://plus.google.com/u/0/+hughjackman/posts

  2. I did NOT know it was National Grilled Cheese month. I feel a ‘cheat meal’ coming on….I LOVE CHEESE and I LOVE JANIS and her writing! Brava!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers